An Enchanted Sleep

Last night I didn’t sleep well at all. It’s a strange thing. I didn’t toss and turn, and I don’t remember having any nightmares, I just woke up this morning feeling like I haven’t slept at all. So let’s go over a few things I’ll be doing this evening, a few ideas to try to make sure exactly this doesn’t happen to you.

One way to insure a restful night’s sleep is to make a crystal grid around the corners of your bed. They can be quartz, or selenite, or any other stone you find to be calming or protective or banishing. I use a selenite tower, a large hunk of raw rose quartz, a piece of white jade, plain quarts points, and an obsidian orb I put on my head board. Climb into bed and put the last stone in place. This will insure that any negative forces stay out, as well as providing a healing energy to relieve stress and instill calm, clear-headed thoughts. If you sleep with a partner, and don’t want to spell them as well, you can simply but two crystals on outer edges of the middle of the bed, thus giving you a separate grid.

If your mind is simply wandering and you can’t seem to settle down, perhaps you should try burning some incense. If you insure that is in a fire safe dish you can burn it at night without a problem, I’ve done so for years without incident (despite my parents fears). I’ve found any kind of incense to be effective, though I especially enjoy musk based scents and lavender for sleep aids.

You can also break gather some herbs and make a charm bag to put in your pillow case for a good night’s sleep. Try lavender, chamomile, hops, passion flower, peppermint, poppy, rosemary, thyme, valerian, or vervain. If you feel the need for a stone inside to ground it, try howlite (undyed please) for a soothing energy, obsidian for protection, and chalcedony or citrine for nightmare prevention. For something a little more involved, you could also make an herbal pillow with the above as well.

I hope these spells aid you as much as they have aided me. And when all else fails, Sleepy Time tea. Not exactly magickal, but effective!

About Sue Lahna

Writer, editor, librarian, witch, college student. Mother of one cat. Lover of literature, creating, fountain pens, crystals, tea, coffee, corsets, hula hooping, and boots.

Posted on May 8, 2012, in herb magick, stone magick and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

